White’s Dockyard, Ferrybank
Summary Location: Ferrybank Dock
Thomas White, a Quaker businessman, came to Waterford in 1775 and opened a grocery business in King Street, now O’Connell Street. His son William developed a rope walk in 1816 and in 1818 he opened his shipyard in Ferrybank, manufacturing wooden sailing ships. White’s first ship the Erin was launched in 1820. It is a testament to the workmanship at White’s that this ship was still in service in 1842. White’s shipyard also built the largest and fastest ship ever built in Waterford, the Merrie England.